Africa · America · Community · Creative Writing · Culture · Immigration · Photography · Travel

Sometimes Home is a Place We Long For

Japanese Kimono
A couple out on a photo shoot on the streets of Kyoto. Photo Credit: Mary Ongwen

A little old lady asked for directions on the D.C metro the other day. From her accent and facial features I thought she may be Japanese. I asked. She confirmed she was from Japan.

When I mentioned that I had been to Japan, she let out a squeal of thrill – that came as a surprise. She beamed. Her little dark pupils twinkled like black diamonds. She raised her hands and fist pumped like an excited but cautious little girl. I was elated to bring a smile to her face.

Ondaba - Mt Fuji
A view of Mt. Fuji. Selfie 🙂

She followed me onto the train and we sat together, smiling like buddies who’d reunited after years apart. She was soft spoken, never mind that the chug-chug of the train drowned out any attempts to have a meaningful conversation about places, culture, impressions. Our smiles did the talking. The guy to her right tried not to look, a little old Japanese lady and an African woman – quite the combination. What he couldn’t see were two hearts connected to a place. The nostalgia, the home-sickness – the joy of being understood.

I came to my stop and bid her farewell, she held my hand and shock it several times. I’d shared a thin slice of her Japan, a little string which perhaps for her was a life time of memories – a stroll at the foot of Mt. Fuji, a trek through Fushimi Inari, slurps of spicy ramen or a gentle bow of the head to say “Arigato!”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.